Jaylib Live In LA 2004 [mp3] / How I Met..

Jaylib Live In LA 2004 [mp3]

c8cfb483920a3835a5b85dd214453dbf

This made its rounds over the weekend, and it’s particularly important to me because this was the tour during which I met J Dilla. They came to the Bay @ the Independent and after the show, I spoke to him for a couple of minutes. I had interviewed him for RIME Magazine, so we traded info since I said I’d send him the article. I then told him he was the best and that he, Madlib and DOOM were essentially keeping hip-hop at a higher level. I told him I’d been down since Mad Skillz “It’s Goin Down”, to which he laughed and said “Whoa!” I shook his hand and thanked him, then dipped. So when he passed, I was of course upset, but glad that I was blessed with the opportunity to thank him for all the work he’s done. So once again, thank you Dilla!

Shout out to Stoney Jackson, J.Rocc’s blog where this debuted, and to Stones Throw, where it’s also being hosted. Turn it up!

Leave a comment